Staging in the Classroom: Sample

IIS is a proponent of how arts, activism, and teaching intersect. We have staged dialogues in the classrooms using technology to video in our colleagues, film screenings, and in-person discussions.

Sample dialogue that occurred with Rutgers University students with the Women’s & Gender studies Department (Dr. Fukushima’s class).

Goal: Students were working on their final projects for a course on Gender & Popular Culture. As they worked towards their final projects, the goal was to inspire a dialogue surrounding what it means to mobilize/organize/create with intention.

Time:

New York (U.S.A. – New York) Tuesday, April 22, 2014 at 2:00:00 PM EDT UTC-4 hours
Madrid (Spain) Tuesday, April 22, 2014 at 8:00:00 PM CEST UTC+2 hours
Seoul (South Korea) Wednesday, April 23, 2014 at 3:00:00 AM KST UTC+9 hours
Berlin (Germany – Berlin) Tuesday, April 22, 2014 at 8:00:00 PM CEST UTC+2 hours
San Francisco (U.S.A. – California) Tuesday, April 22, 2014 at 11:00:00 AM PDT UTC-7 hours

Questions:

1. What is a manifesto to you? Are there models of manifestos or declarative statements that have impacted your journey as an artist, activist, and thinker? It does not have to be what the student’s are reading, but if you will talk about another statement outside of the list, please send my way or send me the reference and I will recommend it to the students. I would love to hear more about your personal connections to declarative models. I will offer a tracing of the genealogy of the statements that I have attached, just to give the students a general background of some of the models that exist. And discuss what it means to maneuver with intention from a feminist perspective.
 
2. How has technology and capitalism changed the way that one declares their intentions and responds to a 21st century norm/belief?
 
3. Can a manifesto still exist if no one reads it? Or sees it? And/or can a manifesto be a document/content that continually changes? Does it have to be a static statement?
 
4. How do transnational networks and diasporan experiences shape the way that one makes a claim, places a stake into the ground with their politics and identity formations?
Invited Speakers: Members of IIS – Damali Abrams, Dalida Maria Benfield, Choralyne Dumesnil, Alanna Lockward, & tammy ko Robinson.
Facilitator: Annie Isabel Fukushima
Process: Dialogue with live note-taking (students took notes collectively).
Readings:
Advertisements